MINUTES OF THE PLANNING BOARD MEETING Thursday, July 22, 2021

Present:

Chairman Larry Lonergan
Councilman Jack McEvoy
Mr. Steven Neale
Mr. Jim Kirby
Mr. Tim Camuti
Ms. Jessica Pearson
Mr. Al DeOld
Mr. David Freschi
Mr. Jason Hyndman

Mr. Jason Hyndman

Mr. Grag Massara, Planning Pound Attorney, Ackley Neels, Planning P

Mr. Greg Mascera, Planning Board Attorney Ashley Neale, Planning Board Secretary

Meeting called to order at 7:31 P.M. by Chairman Lonergan. This meeting was held via Zoom Video Conferencing due to COVID-19 pandemic.

Pledge of Allegiance:

Chairman Lonergan reads Open Public Meetings Act Statement and explains how the public can raise their virtual hands to participate in the meeting.

Reorganization of the Board

Mr. Mascera administers oaths of office to the following members.

- 1. Alex Roman Class I Member Term Expires June 30, 2023
- 2. Jack McEvoy- Class III Member Term Expires June 30, 2022
- 3. Al DeOld- Class IV Member Term Expires June 30, 2025
- 4. Tim Camuti- Class IV Member Term Expires June 30, 2025
- 5. Jason Hyndman Alternate Member #2 Term Expires June 30, 2023

Roll Call was taken. Mr. Kirby was present via telephone only.

Mr. Lonergan asks for a nomination for Chairman of the Board. Ms. Pearson nominated Mr. Lonergan, Mr. Hyndman seconds. Roll call is taken; all present vote in favor, Mr. Kirby abstained. Chairman Lonergan asks for a nomination for Vice Chairman of the Board. Chairman Lonergan nominates Jessica Pearson, Mayor Roman seconds. Roll call is taken all present vote in favor, Mr. Kirby & Councilman McEvoy abstained.

Chairman Lonergan asks for a motion to approved Resolution 2021-01 Appointing Ashley Neale as Planning Board Secretary. Councilman McEvoy makes the motion, Mr. Camuti seconds. Roll call is taken, all present vote in favor, Mr. Neale and Mr. Kirby abstained.

Chairman Lonergan asks for a motion to approved Resolution 2021-02 Appointing Greg Mascera as Planning Board Attorney. Vice Chairman Pearson makes the motion, Mr. Camuti seconds. Roll call is taken, all present vote in favor, Mr. Kirby abstained.

Chairman Lonergan asks for a motion to approved Resolution 2021-03 Meeting Dates of the Planning Board for 2021-2022. Mr. Neale makes the motion, Vice Chairman Pearson seconds. All present vote in favor, Mr. Kirby abstained.

Chairman Lonergan asks for a motion to designate the Verona Cedar Grove Times and the Star Ledger as the official newspapers of the Board. Vice Chairman Pearson makes the motion, Mr. Freschi seconds. Roll call is taken all present vote in favor, Mr. Kirby abstained. Chairman Lonergan also mentions myveronanj.com and tapinto.com as the online news sources the Board sends meeting notices to.

Reorganization of Sub Committees

After some discussion, the Sub Committees for 2021-2022 are as follows:

Architectural Review Board:

Mr. Michael DeCarlo, Assistant Township Engineer, Mayor Alex Roman, Councilman Jack McEvoy

Site Plan and Subdivision Committee:

Mr. Michael DeCarlo, Assistant Township Engineer, Mr. Steven Neale, Councilman Jack McEvoy

Landscape and Environmental Committee:

Mr. Michael DeCarlo, Assistant Township Engineer, Ms. Jessica Pearson, Mr. Steven Neale, Mr. David Freschi

Master Plan Implementation Committee:

Mr. Michael DeCarlo, Assistant Township Engineer, Chairman Lonergan, Mr. Al DeOld, Ms. Jessica Pearson, Mr. Tim Camuti Mr. Greg Mascera, Planning Board Attorney

Adjourn

There was some discussion on returning to in person meetings. The Board decided that the August meeting would remain virtual and the goal will be to return to in person meetings for September.

After a motion made by Chairman Lonergan and seconded by Vice Chairman Pearson, there was a unanimous vote to adjourn at 8:08 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Ashley Neale Planning Board Secretary

PLEASE NOTE: Meeting minutes are a summation of the hearing. If you are interested in a verbatim transcript from this or any proceeding, please contact the Planning Board office at 973-857-4777.