November is SAFE Homes Month: Take the Pledge
Published on Nov 11, 2017 at 12:15p.m.
SAFE HOMES is a program that empowers parents and guardians to create a community of like-minded people who have pledged to not allow underage alcohol and drug use in their homes and on their property.
IT’S JUST COMMON SENSE – AND THE LAW
Taking the SAFE HOMES Pledge does not make you legally responsible. New Jersey law already makes us all responsible. New Jersey law holds you legally accountable if alcohol is served to underage persons in your home.
New Jersey Law states that the legal age for purchase, possession or consumption of any alcoholic beverage is 21 years of age or older. (2c:33-17a)
Although it is legal for parents to choose to serve their own children on their property, it is illegal to serve alcoholic beverages to others under the age of 21. The maximum penalty is $1000 fine and 6 months in jail.
In addition, parents could be held civilly liable for any incident arising as a result of serving or allowing alcohol to be consumed on their property.
REMEMBER – PARENTS WHO HOST, LOSE THE MOST!
SAFE HOMES members receive the names and telephone numbers of those who signed the pledge. Don’t assume that because someone signed the pledge that a party is supervised. We give you phone numbers so you can make that call to be sure. Be ready to get the call as well.
Feel free to send any comments or questions to us at email@example.com.More: Home News